The Music That Never Fails Me

As October, my birthday month winds down, there are still bits of favorites that I intend on sharing.

Most know that music fuels my movement.  However, in the times of my life when I really need to be lifted, I listen to more gospel music than people can begin to imagine. In all honesty, it was the message behind the music of three artists, in particular that led me to walk up the aisle at my home church (Second Baptist) a little more than six years ago on October 4th.

I had been a member of the choir for a while and credit my then-choir director (Pastor Derek Griffin) with exposing my mind to new inspirational sounds. Well, new ‘to me’ is how I should phrase that.

Songs like …

“He’ll Welcome Me” ~ John P. Kee and the New Life Community Choir

 

“Jesus Is My Help” ~ Hezekiah Walker & The Love Fellowship Crusade Choir

(sidebar: I remember visiting the Love Fellowship Tabernacle in East New York, Brooklyn on several occasions and being amazed at how humble, humane and approachable Pastor Hez ~ now Bishop was. I was also a lil concerned about the floor’s vibration, as the music played and when the spirit was at its highest height! God was definitely in the building.)

One song that our choir did not sing, but I asked for us to learn quite a few times because it lived in me then, and lives in me now ~ God has ordered my steps

Fred Hammond & Radical for Christ ~ Your Steps Are Ordered By God

(always had a slight crush on F. Hammond *smile*)

…helped me to believe that there was hope for me, regardless of the situation or circumstance.

~ by theinnersoul10 on October 29, 2010.

2 Responses to “The Music That Never Fails Me”

  1. I also have a crush on Fred Hammond and love he is so down to earth..Glad that you made that decision…keep a song of praise in your heart..that help me alot especially when the unexpected happens…Thanks so much for sharing I enjoyed reading that .

    • It is definitely the best decision that I could have made for me, Donna. I was baptized in December of that year and as my pastor explained, the devil would begin to attack with greater force once I reconnected with God. By attacking my home, health, finances, family ~ my sanity also became questionable! Through it all, I have stood firm and made every attempt to remain focused.

      Thank you so much for reading my thoughts and for leaving a comment.

Leave a Reply

 
