Sometimes Free Music is Definitely Decent!

Today links for free downloads and mixtapes are on every social media outlet in existence. No longer are virtual unknown independent artists giving ‘certifiable’ music away for the sake of introducing themselves to a music-loving world, but well-established mainstream artists are following suit also. The real question is: should this common practice continue to gain momentum with the days of paying for music be so far behind us at this point  or must this all come to an immediate halt?!

I wanted to shine the spotlight on some artists who have blessed anxious ears with good sounds (at little to no cost):



Durand Bernarr: introduced to me some time ago by L. Michael Gipson and sadly took a minute for me to actually check out.  But let me tell you, when I listened…it was a wrap!  I was hooked.  This brother has covered my girl, Erykah Badu as I’ve never heard, along with other popular artists today.

8ight: The Stepson of Erykah Badu (Durand Bernarr)

AlcoholHarmony: The Mixtape (2009) ~ (Durand Bernarr) *Listen to him sing, Kanye’s ‘Flashing Lights’*

*  *  *

The E’s

Music World’s Essence Collection (Amazon Download)

British singer, Estelle released a mixtape too.  Though I haven’t listened, I thought I’d post the link and share it with you in case you are interested in loading up.

*  *  *


SoulBounce has a lot going on this summer!

The group, Brutha showed a helluva lot of promise when their reality series ran on BET’s network.  These biological brothers, with apparent emotionally charged family related issues have talent that far surpasses most of the attention garnering mainstream acts today.  The series takes us through the challenges faced by being managed by an extra stern maternal uncle (who’s a cutie, no doubt :)), having an estranged relationship with their father whose musical career seemingly floundered back in the 80s, a battle with alcoholism in one of the brothers and just serious real life situations. SoulBounce shared a free download link of Brutha’s remake of the Jodeci classic, Freek’N You.

What do you think of that??

*  *  *


SoulBounce has a Michael Jackson mixtape from Qool DJ Marv that is offered for free download.  Again, I have not checked it out just yet but I’m sure it will be hawtttt!

Since this is the first anniversary of his death, the internet jumped to life with mixtapes in honor of our fallen musical soldier.

SoulBounce posted Qool DJ Marv’s Summer of Michael Jackson Vol 2 mixtape


  • Michael Jackson – Heaven Can Wait
  • Michael Jackson – Lady In My Life
  • Michael Jackson – Music & Me
  • Michael Jackson – Break Of Dawn
  • Michael Jackson – The Way You Make Me Feel (Live)
  • Michael Jackson – Living This Way, Loving This Way
  • Michael Jackson – Human Nature
  • Michael Jackson – This Is It
  • Michael Jackson – I Can’t Help It
  • Michael Jackson feat. Siedah Garrett- I Just Can’t Stop Loving You
  • Michael Jackson – Liberian Girl
  • The Jacksons – Dreamer
  • The Jacksons – Show You The Way To Go
  • Michael Jackson – Baby Be Mine
  • Michael Jackson – Remember The Time
  • Michael Jackson – Fly Away
  • Michael Jackson – Beautiful Girl
  • Michael Jackson – Rock With You (Acappella)

* * *

DJ Jazzy Jeff & Mick Boogie collaborated on the ultimate Summertime Mixtape for all to download ~ pure fiiiyah! Check it out.

*  *  *

Take 5 of the hottest brothers (Jon Bibbs, Wildmann, Darien, Eric Roberson and Jarrad Anthony) in indie soul and put them on an extra schmooved out remix and you cannot go wrong. Here’s a free download of Damn Sista.

*  *  *


New music from one of the sweetest sistas in indie soul today.  A hot freebie … one that keeps you rocking! Download the song, “Better” but then purchase the full album.

*  *  *


Ty Causey’s music is a blend of soulful grown jazzy sexiness.  His new album, Down 2 Earth is just about to drop, but he’s shared “Rocket to the Moon” with music lovers.

*  *  *


(soulbounce photo)

This particular download of Dilla*Shine has made its mark on several social media outlets.  Robert Glasper is a standout young musician who leads his own band and plays alongside other greats. Here’s what SoulTracks had to say about the song:

Vocalist Zynzelay was listening to a Giles Peterson interview with pianist Robert Glasper when she heard one of his outtakes called “Dilla*Shine.” She recorded the outtake and shared it with Charlton Williams. Charlton put his touch on it, she wrote lyrics for the song…and then magic happened. A perfect example of the fusion of jazz, hip-hop, soul & technology!

More to come…

~ by theinnersoul10 on July 18, 2010.

2 Responses to “Sometimes Free Music is Definitely Decent!”

  1. Nice for me….thanks for you nice blog.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: