Inner Soul Spotlight ~ Black Music Month: The Beginning!

Inner Soul Spotlight ~ Black Music Month: The Beginning!

June is Black Music Month. I’d be remiss if I didn’t show my appreciation for the music that has helped shape my mind and personality. This episode is entitled, Black Music Month: The Beginning!


Track Listing:

God Bless The Child ~ Billie Holiday
In A Sentimental Mood ~ Duke Ellington & John Coltrane
Goody Goody ~ Frankie Lymon & The Teenagers
Who’s Loving You ~ The Jackson 5
Another Saturday Night ~ Sam Cooke
Day Dreaming ~ Aretha Franklin
What Am I Gonna Do With You ~ Barry White
Stubborn Kind of Fellow ~ Marvin Gaye
If You Really Love Me ~ Stevie Wonder
Just My Imagination ~ The Temptations
Walk Away From Love ~ David Ruffin
My Mistake (Was Loving You) ~ Marvin Gaye & Diana Ross
It Seems to Hang On ~ Ashford & Simpson

and the song that the family made me sing at the tender age of 4 or 5 at gatherings, into a mic with speakers ~ probably the prelude to my utter disdain for the mic and spotlights: Sideshow ~ Blue Magic (thanks onutss & centrictv.com, as well as my j o b & my church (smile).

This is a short listing of my Motown favorites ~ next chapter, TSOP and other jazzy sounds…

Download link or just listen & enjoy:

Disclaimer: I’m not a professional dj; just a sister who loves music; I don’t have a mac that can do fancy tricks with images; just a sometimey dell laptop that is on it’s last leg ~ just wanted to share some music with you that makes me reflect and smile.

~ by theinnersoul10 on June 15, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
