Inner Soul Spotlight: Lena Horne & The Harlem Renaissance

Sometimes there is so much going on within that you really may not know where to start when it comes to expression.  This is one such time.  I was a bit more focused until I peeked on Twitter to see the multiple postings about the passing of the legendary African American goddess, Lena Horne.  I had read over the past few years that she was not in good health, and although she was over 90 years of age the loss is still hard to swallow.  To this day, Stormy Weather is still one of my very favorite movies and has a special place (right up front) in my personal dvd collection. Such an elegant and graceful beauty to watch onscreen, Lena Horne was adored by my junior high school chorus teacher.  If I can remember correctly, she appeared in a Broadway production that became one of our field trip outings.  He made sure that she came out after the performance to speak briefly with us.  The legacy left behind by Ms. Horne will never be forgotten.

LENA HORNE (June 30, 1917 – May 9, 2010)


I tell my family quit often that I was born in the wrong era.  I was truly meant to mix and mingle during the time of the Harlem Renaissance.  I should have been running with and inhaling the cigarette smoke of  Zora Neal Hurston, Langston Hughes and Claude McKay (Manchild In The Promised Land).  I would have been wearing fox head stoles, pencil skirts and black pumps. (smile)

ZORA NEAL HURSTON

Here’s a picture of my paternal grandparents.  As you can see, my grandfather had the fashionable cigarette in his right hand and my grandmother’s satin dress was accented by open toe black pumps!

~ by theinnersoul10 on May 10, 2010.

6 Responses to “Inner Soul Spotlight: Lena Horne & The Harlem Renaissance”

  1. I would have loved to have seen you in those pumps, pencil skirt, heels and inhaling cigarette smoke, lol. I would have been rolling right along with you!

    Sad Lena passed on mother’s day, wow

    Thanks for sharing

    • If I had my way, Suga — I’d roll the calendar back about 30 years prior to my late 60s birth year.

  2. Sad news to wake to this morning. But this is a beautiful and fitting homegoing tribute that you have written and shared. I also adore the Harlem Renaissance Era and Ms. Horne will live in our hearts forever.

    • The music was pure…the writing was raw but masked…the women were chic and beautiful…the men were dapper and fine ~ Tracy, I was born too late! 🙂

  3. Lena Horne was a mainstay in my household, as she is one of my Mom’s favorite singers. She absolutely adored her and in turn, I learned a lot about her through song and movies. Coincidentally, my Mom’s name is Lena too. I have yet to speak to her to find out how Ms. Horne’s passing has effected her. However, I can truly say her passing is being felt all around. Such a classy lady, she will surely not be forgotten.

Leave a Reply

 
