When the funk hits the fan…

I vowed when getting this blog up and running that I’d make an even greater effort to keep it together a few times a week. Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to keep to that. But, it is in the forefront of my mind — always, believe me! In the two weeks that I’ve been in silent mode, so many things have occurred in our world that has caused me to shake my head in frustration, allow my head to hang low in sorrow and to feel such pride that nothing or no one could stop me if they tried.

I have a question that has been burning its way through my thoughts as of late: what do young people care about today? I remember my enthusiasm at being able to go away to college. Not only was I out from under my mother’s watchful eye, college promised me the freedom and flexibility to study the subject matter that I wanted (black history) and to increase the knowledge of my own cultural complexity. During those first two years of being away, I became somewhat of a borderline new age Black Panther radical. I wanted to live in the realm of “no justice, no peace.’

Like a sponge, I absorbed the lessons I was afforded and memorized each scene in the documentary, Eyes On The Prize. So, with the recent passing of Benjamin Hooks and Dorothy Height my curiosity is piqued to know just what these historic ‘names’ mean to our youth today.


Benjamin Hooks (“We’ve come a long way, but it’s like nibbling at the edge of darkness.”)

Best known as the Executive Director of the NAACP throughout the years, Dr. Hooks. His grandmother was the 2nd black female to graduate from college in the United States. Dr. Hooks was a lawyer, judge and minister all at once. He was a civil rights pioneer whose contributions have made our world a better place.


Dorothy Height

In 1933, Dr. Height earned her Masters Degree in Psychology from New York University — 19 hundred and thirty three! She was a civil rights pioneer in the truest sense of the term. Helping to organize the March on Washington, Dr. Height certainly played a key role in shaping freedom and equality as we had come to know it. Dr. Height was not only the national president of Delta Sigma Theta for quite some time, but was the president of the National Council of Negro Women. I paid my $5 dues faithfully as an undergraduate student and was elated when my monthly magazine arrived.

So the ‘funk’ continues to hit the ‘fan’ in our communities. The blatant disregard for human life seems constant and not just a fleeting thought. On Easter Sunday, the day when the resurrection of Jesus Christ should have been foremost two very promising young people celebrating eternal love lost their lives at the hands of savage delinquents. Mike and Nia were returning from their engagement party when they were gunned down. To learn more about them, please visit the website dedicated to their love.

Where is the love for our brothers and sisters, young and old?

Out//

~ by theinnersoul10 on April 22, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
